Yet another UPS thread :)

Hello people,

Awesome forum, awesome janta !! :D

I have been researching to upgrade the UPS solution installed at my parents' place. They have been using a homage inverter with AGS / EXCIDE or a similar battery (150AH) for a couple of years now. But I wanted it to upgrade to a better solution since the load shedding is now almost 7 / 8 hours a day. The main aim is to have absolutely painless UPS setup with a minimum of maintenance and the best home UPS solution there is. Budget is flexible based on how good a value of money the setup is.

I am an electrical engineer myself so at first I thought to buy two UPSes (24 v type) with independent batteries (maintenance free type) and then use a small PLC controller (with change over contactors, voltage transducers, circuit breakers etc) so that when mains has power both UPSes are being charged and then upon loss of power one of the UPS takes over. Once the battery voltage drops below a certain level, it will switch over to the other UPS. Since this way I can use slightly smaller batters (100 AH) for each UPS, it should have a shorter charging time for each UPS. I had drawn drawing for this setup including some sketchs for the cabinet I want to build it to house this setup in.

But then I realized that there has to be a better solution in the market since this is such a widespread issue.

So here I am asking your expert opinion. I have been looking at branded UPSes, such as APC and cyberpower and upon going through this forum realized that a lot of people are infact using those. However most of these UPS solutions are designed for the datacentre / telecom market and are mainly for short duration usage.

I had looked at this APC UPS:http://www.apc.com/products/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BR1500GI

But unfortunately according to runtime chart this will only last about an hour on my load. (2/3 fans, a couple of energy savers, a modem, wireless access point, 400 - 500 watts max).