Which UPS do you recommend?

Hi,

I'm not an engineer so bear with me.

I need a UPS for my home and have a couple of questions.

1. Are Inverters and UPS' the same thing?

2. I've heard of Homage and Cyberpower as the two leading/reliable brands. Which brand and type would you recommend and are there any others that are readily available and better than these two?

3. I've only got a 2-3 fans and 2-3 bulbs that need to powered during loadshedding. Oh and also my dsl modem+router and my PC at times (which since it has a core i3 with speedstep enabled should consume very little power - perhaps 50W max i'm guessing). Assuming i have all these on during loadshedding, how many hours of backup can I expect (assuming I get the recommended battery with the UPS)?

4. I have seen that most of the inverters provide simulated sine wave. I'm assuming this is okay for running my PC and LCD, and don't need an inverter that provides pure sine wave. Am I correct in my assumption?

5. Lastly, I live in Karachi. Where will I be able to buy the inverter/UPS without getting ripped off and at what prices? Also, batteries?

First thing first, my personal experience is only with Homage and its working very very good. BUT i've heard people talking good things about cyberpower and mercury UPS.

Now TTBOMK

1. Inverter alternate the battery power (or solar power) into the alternate current for our daily use. It doesn't Charge the batteries so need a separate charger for that purpose BUT UPS have also inverter in them as well as charger so it does both things alternatively.

2. Go with either one, its okay.

3+4. Yes that's true that even with a good LCD (less then 20inch) the highest power draw will be less than 50W approx (unless you are encoding something or gaming) that's not the point. Modified sinewave or stepped sinewave is bad for pc. not long ago my new CM power supply got crashed only after days i used it on homage UPS. i have i3 as well.