Smartwatch / Wearable Devices

Anyone here using any smart watch?

If using any wearable device, smartwatch, etc, please provide details about your device, the primary use/benefit, the type of apps most often used and your experience about it?

Is it just a temporary fad or does it hold merit for long term usage?

Also, how long does the battery last and how frequently do you need to charge it with regards to your usage?

Not sure if you are asking about "health wares" as well. But if you are and plan on buying then get a fitbit. A friend in Pakistan purchased one and had some issues with it's charger. He called fitbit and they shipped him a new charger to Pakistan without any additional charges. Not many companies would do that.

Yeah, referring to all forms of wearables inclusive of 'health-wares' but especially about smartwatches.

I have been using Samsung Gear (first version) for almost two years with firstly Galaxy S4 device then switched to Galaxy S6.

Found it very useful, especially when you are attending meetings (keep your phone silent, the Gear will give all notifications), while driving you can also answer the call since Gear has built in speakerphone.

Quite useful when doing some hands on work with both hands busy. It got a nice camera as well to take pictures / videos. Also has pedometer, counting your steps as you start a walk. Battery life is quite good, it gives me full two days backup (of course usage dependent.).It has voice commands, you may call a number while driving using voice. There are good apps available but I didn't try any.

For me, it's not few days fad, it is actually useful for me. Never gave any problems, just keeps working and doing its job.

Finally, if you forget your phone and walk away, it will remind you. Also if you forget your watch, your phone will tell you. I saved my phone at least twice.

Is it compatible with other Android devices such as Motorola or Huawei?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk