GTA 4 with PS3 on a Standard box TV set

This query is basically going to allow me to make a decision in buying a ps3. Which has been long overdue.

I have a standard Phillips TV (32 " non flat screen). It has Audio Video support with 3 pins (one for video and 1 each for left and right speaker channel).

I am not sure what 780 p or 1080 p means. I am a newbie in this regard. Would love to get some information on this. Also I do not know what specifications are of my TV.

Can I run GTA 4 on it with PS3? If not then how can I do that?

Cheers,

darktaktiX

^ darktaktiX

Yes, you can run GTA4 with PS3 on your Phillips 32" TV (that is analog TV) using 3 input pins (1 for video and 2 for audio, left and right). These 3 input pins are called composite video with stereo audio.

Games (including GTA4) will run great (not excellent) on your Phillips 32" TV. To run excellent quality, you'll going to need good quality wide-screen LCD and a 5.1 surround sound system. But these both items will increase cost as you'll have to buy LCD and surround sound system.

However, you can buy new LCD screen (wide-screen) and 5.1 surround sound system later any time you like (after purchasing PS3). Consider them as upgrades. They will also use for watching movies (PS3 can play DVD/BluRay movies like any DVD movie player) and watching TV/Cable-TV.

By the way, you do not need to buy wide-screen LCD or 5.1 surround sound system. Your TV is capable of running PS3 at very good quality.

It's old technology but not yet outdated ;)

Yeap as wampyr said, You sure can run it on that TV. Just that it wont be running in High Definition (HD). But make sure that if your PS3 is PAL then buy a PAL Gta4. I say this because most games will work fine because PS3 is region free meaning you dont have to worry Pal games will work on NTSC console and vise versa but i have heard about GTA 4 Pal not running on NTSC console and vise versa on SD TV's.. So keep in mind about that.