Explain how WIFI works?

Salam to all!!!

Well i have no experience and knowledge of WIFI technologies. I tried to google this topic but could hardly understand its function. I want to ask you people how WiFi works in mobile, and is this service free to use in PAkistan.

Hope you people will help me! Awaiting replies

Its free to use. It has no concerns with any mobile service provider.

What would be your main purpose of understanding this tech? just for knowledge or Some Project/experiment/technical job?

Your mobile just act as a wifi adapter. Wifi itself is wireless equivalent of Ethernet.

[quote=", post:, topic:"]

Its free to use. It has no concerns with any mobile service provider.

What would be your main purpose of understanding this tech? just for knowledge or Some Project/experiment/technical job?

[/quote]

Well, its just for knowledge which i think, is necessary to know about it. I just start cursing myself of not knowing these things and how they work when my friends start talking about these stuff and I am completely blank on this topic (although i have least interest in tech stuffs).

Well can you briefly explain how’s this free?

Also I came across the word “Hotspot” while googling, whats the relation with WiFi?

Thanks for reply!

Wifi is a wireless networking technology. A network consists of two or more computers connected together to share resources. Like this Internet we are using right now :)

Wifi has a limited radius or distance i.e. wifi is a Local Area Network (LAN) technology. Wifi enabled devices like PCs, laptops, some mobiles etc. can connect to the wifi network only within that radius. A wifi network that offers connected devices access to the Internet is called a hotspot. Given the high cost of Internet access in Pakistan free wifi hotspots are few and far in between. Usually they are found in malls where they are used to attract customers.

^Nice explaination.

Some technical info: