Cisco CCNA vs Oracle OCP

I am faced with a choice and hope I can get some good advice here. I have been thinking about getting some computer related training to not only learn some cool stuff, but to earn more money, and possibly leave Pakistan. Basically, I just want to learn some stuff so I am less clueless - first priority.

Keep in mind I have basic knowledge of both computer networks and databases.

So which is the better way to go here? It seems to me that Cisco and Oracle, even though vendor certs, are still broad enough to migrate down to other platforms. Are both equally easy to prepare for without an instructor? My guess is the equipment for the CCNA and the tips and tricks for Oracle are the barriers. I want to do something at which 10 year old "geniuses" or random Filipinos aren't likely to succeed, e.g. MCP. (That said, I looked at SAP as well, and that racket is too rich for a poor man like me. I don't want to be a high-tech haari.)

I find both areas - net and db - interesting. So given the local and nearby foreign job markets, which path would you advise me to go for?

From what I hear, SSUET is good for CCNA and Techno-Ed for Oracle. Do you agree with that? I don't want to waste time, effort or money in the wrong place.

Not exactly the advice you are looking for. Just want to share an observation here. Someone please correct me if I am wrong.

In the past decade or so I have had around 15 friends getting the hottest certifications in order to go abroad. Soon they all realized certifications were not going to land them any jobs so they found other means of going abroad (mainly student visa's). Almost all of them are abroad now, even with all the certifications, none of them are currently working in the fields they certified for.

What you should be asking is :

"Which job should I go for: Network Administrator or Database Administrator"