Burned Ps2 game on DVD bad?

Hi guys, i went to a shopkeepr who sells Ps2 games and he was of the opinion that one should not burn ps2 games on Dvd's and play them as they are bad for the lens of the Ps2 instead only buy the 'golden' malaysian dvd titles..

is that true?

^ nah it aint true what the shopkeeper told u not to do is infact what is done to pirate games

i do it all the time and have had no problem so far and i have been using my ps2 for over 4 years and have never had it fixed

^yeah exactly nothing happens. even many shopkeepers sell pirated games on self burned dvd's.

BS to sell his own stuff!

i write on Sony DVD-R and they are more reliable than Malaysian discs

Phew! thanks guys , you da best! that guy scared the pants of me saying that if i use any other dvd besides the "Golden dvd's" malaysian games it is bad for the Ps2 lens, he was of the opinion that they are wobbly and when spinning in the Ps2 they sorta bonk/ touch/graze the lens from time to time thus destroying the lens..

further more are there 2 makes of the Sony DvD-R? Taiwan and China? the one in standard fat cover is Taiwanese and the Slim cover one is Chinese if so will it make any difference which DvD-R i use to burn / play my games on PS2?

Thanks!

i use the ones that come in jewel case (the fat cover) they work flawlessly

the same DVD that is in the jewel case also come in cakes of 10 and 25 which costs you less as opposed to buying the jewel case and the quality of the disc inside is same

you can get 10 DVD cake for 300 rs (costs same on galaxy, used to be 250 few days ago :mad:) whereas 10 individual jewel case would cost you around rs 400-500

picture of that spindle i am talking about:

http://sp.sony-asia.com/media/34/16535

btw use dvd decrypter to write and select minimum as writing speed

and i meant DVD-R not DVD-RW in this post: http://www.wiredpakistan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?pid=51513#p51513